Four new members have been appointed to the independent lay Panel that considers complaints about irresponsible alcohol marketing under the Portman Group’s Codes of Practice.

The appointments of Rosalie Weetman, Angela McNab, Jon Collins and David MacDonald to the Independent Complaints Panel (Panel) follows the departure of Professor Roy Light and Professor Isabelle Szmigin. 

Rosalie Weetman

Rosalie Weetman is the public health lead for alcohol, drugs and tobacco at Derbyshire County Council and has worked in the criminal justice and health sectors for over twenty years.

Angela McNab

Angela McNab is Chief Executive of a London Mental Health Trust and with 16 years’ experience of working as a senior executive in the NHS.

Jon Collins

Jon Collins has worked in the UK hospitality industry for over two decades in policy, licencing and research roles and served as Chief Executive of customer experience consultancy CGA. 

David Macdonald

David Macdonald served as a police office in Scotland for 30 years and has represented Police Scotland at Strategic Level Partnerships working closely with licensed trade bodies, Local Authorities and other stakeholders.

Jenny Watson CBE, Chair of the Independent Complaints Panel who made the appointments said:

“The Independent Complaints Panel members uphold the standards for alcohol marketing and packaging as set out in the Portman Group Codes of Practice. Our new members bring a broad range and depth of experience to the Panel which will further enhance our decision making.”

Each appointment is for a fixed term of three years with the option to carry on for a second three-year term. The posts were advertised publicly and attracted a strong field of applicants.

Further details about all Panel members can be found here.