Independent Complaints Panel

The Chair of the Independent Complaints Panel is appointed through an open and transparent process, consistent with the Public Appointments Process. The Chair appoints the other Panel members. Panel members must not be employed by the Portman Group or any of its member companies.

Panel members must declare any interest in a case before considering it, whereupon the Chair will decide if it is appropriate for that member to consider the complaint.

Previous Chairs of the Panel have included:

  • Sir Richard Tilt (former Director General of the Prison Service)
  • Laurence Shurman (former Banking Ombudsman)
  • Lord Condon (former Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police)


Click here to see the current Panel members